February 26, 2010



Arizona Cancer Center to offer The Seven Levels of Healing® program


TUCSON, AZ. – As part of its expanded Supportive Care for Healing initiative, the Arizona Cancer Center (AZCC) is introducing The Seven Levels of Healing® program.

This comprehensive education and support program helps cancer patients and their loved ones effectively navigate their experiences with cancer. The Seven Levels of Healing provides guidance and information about integrating state-of-the-art conventional cancer treatments with an array of evidence-based complementary therapies, and helps participants successfully address the important mental, emotional, social, and spiritual dimensions of cancer.

When the group program begins in late March, the Arizona Cancer Center will be the first National Cancer Institute-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center to offer The Seven Levels of Healing. Specially trained Arizona Cancer Center nurses and social workers will facilitate the seven weekly, two-hour sessions, which are offered at no cost to patients and their loved ones.

Jeremy Geffen, MD, FACP, a board-certified medical oncologist, a leading expert in integrative medicine and oncology, and the author of “The Journey Through Cancer: Healing and Transforming the Whole Person,” created the program based on his decade of experience caring for patients and loved ones in one of the first integrative cancer centers in the country, which he founded in 1994.

“The Seven Levels of Healing provides a framework for proactively and coherently addressing the complex needs and concerns encountered by patients and loved ones in cancer diagnosis, treatment and beyond,” said Karen Weihs, MD, the AZCC’s medical director for supportive care. “Everyone at the Arizona Cancer Center will be able to communicate about the ‘level’ at which patients are challenged and work together to meet those needs. Our overarching Supportive Care for Healing program will support participants before and after they go through Seven Levels of Healing sessions.”

The Seven Levels of Healing are: Education and Information, Connection with Others, The Body as Garden, Emotional Healing, The Nature of Mind, Life Assessment, and The Nature of Spirit. The program addresses every aspect of the healing journey and provides clear direction for finding meaning, hope, and practical solutions at every step along the way.

To learn more or to sign up for an introductory session of The Seven Levels of Healing, contact AZCC clinical educator Pamela Gebhardt, RN, MS, OCN, at (520) 694-0383.

About the Arizona Cancer Center

The Arizona Cancer Center is the only National Cancer Institute-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center headquartered in Arizona. With primary locations at the University of Arizona in Tucson and in Scottsdale, the Cancer Center has more than a dozen research and education offices throughout the state and 300 physician and scientist members working to prevent and cure cancer. Visit for more information.

About Geffen Visions International
Geffen Visions International, Inc., is a healthcare education, research, and consulting company dedicated to creating leading-edge, multidimensional approaches to medicine, wellness, and life. Founded by Jeremy Geffen, MD, it assists patients, loved ones, health professionals, and organizations to skillfully and effectively integrate state-of-the-art conventional medicine with a wide array of complementary and mind-body approaches to health and healing. GVI’s leading-edge Seven Levels of Healing program honors and cares for all dimensions of human beings, and promotes healing at the deepest possible levels of the body, mind, heart, and spirit. For more information, visit


Ilya Sloan, Arizona Cancer Center: 520-626-6401

Colleen Mylott, Geffen Visions International: 303-444-6814


Click here to download the News Release as a PDF file.



site map

Geffen Visions International, Inc. - Boulder, Colorado - Copyright © 2013